Panel to decide Rajyotsava Awardees: Sunil Kumar

 Panel to decide Rajyotsava Awardees: Sunil Kumar
Share this post

Mangaluru, Feb 05, 2022: The state government has decided to do away with the practice of entertaining applications for Rajyotsava Award.

Kannada and Culture Minister V Sunil Kumar told this after felicitating Padma Shree Awardee Amai Mahalinga Naik.

“From this year the government will not receive applications for Rajyotsava Award. A selection committee will be formed to identify the achievers,” he said.

“We should not go behind awards. Instead, the achievers should be identified and given the award. So eligible achievers will be selected for the Rajyotsava award,” he said.

The minister appreciated Mahalinga Naik’s achievement.

“When there is a fight for water, which has also reached court many a time, Mahalinga Naik’s achievement is a model for the youth. Naik is the right person to get the Padma award,” he said.

Mahalinga Naik asked the people to understand the importance of water and use it judiciously.

MLA Vedavyas Kamath, Sharada Vidyalaya chief M B Puranik, Mayor Premanand Shetty, and others were present.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Other related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!