Six states including Karnataka to get Rs 3,063.21 crore of additional central assistance

 Six states including Karnataka to get Rs 3,063.21 crore of additional central assistance
Share this post

Assam, Gujarat, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal to get funds for floods/landslides/cyclones that occurred during 2021

New Delhi, Dec 30, 2021: The High Level Committee (HLC), under the Chairmanship of the Union Home Minister, Shri Amit Shah, has approved additional Central assistance under the National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF), to six States, which were affectedby floods, landslides and cyclones during 2021. This shows the resolve of the Union Government under the leadership of Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi to help the people of the six states who faced these natural disasters.

The HLC approved additional Central assistance of Rs. 3,063.21 crore from the NDRF:

  • For Cyclone ‘Tauktae’- 2021, Rs.1,133.35 crore to Gujarat;
  • For Cyclone ‘Yaas’- 2021,  Rs.586.59 crore to West Bengal;
  • For floods/landslides during the South West Monsoon, 2021, Rs. 51.53 crore to Assam, Rs. 504.06 Crore to Karnataka, Rs. 600.50 crore to Madhya Pradesh and Rs. 187.18 crore to Uttarakhand.

This additional assistance is over and above the funds released by the Centre to the States in the State Disaster Response Fund (SDRF), already placed at the disposal of the States. During the financial year 2021-22, the Central Government has released Rs. 17,747.20 crore to 28 States in their SDRF. Further Rs. 3,543.54 Crore has been released to 7 States from NDRF.

In the aftermath of Cyclone ‘Taukte’ and ‘Yaas’, Rs. 1,000 crore was released in advance from NDRF to Gujarat on 20.05.2021and Rs. 300 crore to West Bengal on 29.05.2021.

During the year 2021-22, the Central Government had deputed 22 Inter-Ministerial Central Teams (IMCTs) immediately after natural calamities, without waiting for the receipt of a Memorandum from the affected State Governments.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Other related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!