Dr K Harish Kumar posted as Belagavi DC

 Dr K Harish Kumar posted as Belagavi DC
Share this post
Dr K Harish Kumar

Bengaluru, March 22, 2021: In view of by-election in Belgaum Lok Sabha constituency, Dr K Harish Kumar, who is presently serving as the Commissioner, Employment and Training is transferred as the Deputy Commissioner of Belagavi District.

The state government issued an order in connection to this today.

Also read: Former Uttara Kannada DC Dr Harish Kumar to lead Karnataka COVID management task force

While he was given the responsibility to head Karnataka COVID management task force just five days ago because of his success in handling COVID situation as Uttara Kannada DC, Dr K Harish Kumar has now been transferred as Belagavi DC.

Belagavi, the biggest district in the state with two Parliament constituencies, is gearing up for by-elections for the Belgaum Lok Sabha seat which fell vacant after the death of Union Minister Suresh Angadi.

Top sources told The Canara Post that the appointment of Harish Kumar as the DC of Belagavi has been made as per the directions of Election Commission.

On January 25, this year, Dr Harish Kumar was awarded for best electoral practices at the state level. He was Uttara Kannada DC then. He had served as Deputy Commissioner of Uttara Kannada for about two years and transferred as Commissioner, Employment and Training on February 13, 2021.

Also read: Uttara Kannada DC Dr. Harish Kumar honored for best electoral practices

Dr Kumar had conducted four major elections in Uttara Kannada district- the Parliament election, Yellapur By-election (after Shivaram Hebbar quit Congress and joined BJP), Council Election and also Gram Panchayat elections. He was also instrumental in two summary roll revisions.

Apart fromt his Harish Kumar was also active in the election process during his service as the CEO of Chamarajanagar district and Commissioner of Mangaluru City Corporation.

Considering his rich experience in handling crucial elections and his team work, Harish Kumar has now been appointed as the DC of Belagavi district.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Other related posts

error: Content is protected !!