Dakshina Kannada to have seven Model PHCs

 Dakshina Kannada to have seven Model PHCs
Share this post

Mangaluru, July 08, 2021: Seven Primary Health Centers in Dakshina Kannada are set to be developed as Model PHCs. Based on the recommendation of the MLAs, the list has been sent to the state government.

The state government is stressing on improving the healthcare system and wants to provide quality and affordable treatment by strengthening the PHCs. Initially, the government plans to develop one PHC in every assembly segment (rural areas) as Model PHCs.

The MLAs have been given the responsibility to identify the PHCs in their constituency which they feel can be upgraded.

The project is only for rural PHCs. Dakshina Kannada district has eight constituencies. As Mangaluru City South comprises only city limits, the list sent to the government has seven PHCs.

List of PHCs proposed to be upgraded to Model PHCs:

  1. Belthangady: Padangady
  2. Mangaluru City North: Ganjimatha
  3. Mangaluru: Pudu
  4. Moodabidri: Belvai
  5. Bantwal: Mani
  6. Puttur: Tingaladi
  7. Sullia: Bellare

While a clear picture of the facelift is not yet available, sources said that these places are likely to be developed in line with Taluk Hospitals.

The government plans to provide sophisticated laboratory and X-ray services. The government is also likely to provide quarters for the staff in these places.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Other related posts

error: Content is protected !!